

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Annual Reorganization Meeting MINUTES/June 26, 2018

President Nyaboga called to order the Annual Board of Directors Reorganization Meeting of the Dr. Lena Edwards Academic Charter School on June 26, 2018 at 513 Bramhall Avenue, Jersey City, New Jersey at 5:27PM; he then led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Recording Secy Maureen Hulings advised "In accordance with the New Jersey P.L. 1975, Chapter 231 (<u>SUNSHINE LAW-OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT</u>) adequate notice of this Annual Reorganization meeting & Regular Board Meeting has been provided to the Offices of the City Clerk of Jersey City & the Hudson County Superintendent of Schools, the Jersey Journal & the Jersey City Reporter; she then took attendance:

ROLL CALL

| TRUSTEES | Present | Absent |
|------------------------------|---------|--------|
| ANDREW NYABOGA | X | |
| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | |
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | X |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | |

EXECUTIVE STAFF PRESENT:

Christopher Garlin, CEO Maureen Hulings, Recording Secy.

President Nyaboga asked if there were any questions or comments regarding **Resolution No. 6/18/1 Approval of DLEACS 2018-2019 Board Meetings Schedule**; he then called for a vote to approve; it was moved by John Seazholtz & seconded by Patricia Madison.

Roll Call Vote

| TRUSTEES | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|------------------------------|-----|-----|---------|--------|
| ANDREW NYABOGA | X | | | |
| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | | | |
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | | | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | | | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | | | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | | | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | | | X |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | | | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | | | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | | | |

Eugene Squeo, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, advised the Board that the nominating committee had asked **Patricia Madison & Eugene Squeo** if they would accept 3 yr. terms as Board members; they agreed to accept the nominations & that committee had asked **Richard Irving** if he would accept a 1 yr. term as a Board member and he accepted.

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/18/2 Reappointing Board Members, Patricia Madison & Eugene Squeo for 3 Year Terms Expiring July 1, 2021; and Richard Irving for a 1 year term expiring July 1, 2019; Motion was made by John Seazholtz and seconded by Sondra Riley.

Roll Call Vote

| TRUSTEES | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|------------------------------|-----|-----|---------|--------|
| ANDREW NYABOGA | X | | | |
| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | | | |
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | | | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | | | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | | | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | | | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | | | X |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | | | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | | | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | | | |

Eugene Squeo advised the Board that the nominating committee had asked Yvel Celestin if he would accept a 3 yr. term as the Parent Board member. He agreed to accept the nomination.

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/18/3 Reappointing Yvel Celestin as Parent Representative on the Board to a 3 Year Term expiring July 1, 2021; Motion was made by Eugene Squeo and seconded by Patricia Madison.

Roll Call Vote

| TRUSTEES | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|------------------------------|-----|-----|---------|--------|
| ANDREW NYABOGA | X | | | |
| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | | | |
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | | | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | | | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | | | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | | | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | | | X |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | | | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | | | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | | | |

Eugene Squeo said the Nominating Committee had agreed on the following Trustees names to be placed in nomination as follows:

Andrew Nyaboga President
Joseph DiFeo Vice President
Phyllis Fasone Treasurer

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to approve **Resolution 6/18/4 Appointing** Andrew Nyaboga as President, Joseph DiFeo as Vice President & Phyllis Fasone as Treasurer for a 1 year term to expire July 1, 2019; Motion was made by John Seazholtz & seconded by Sondra Riley.

Roll Call Vote

| TRUSTEES | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|------------------------------|-----|-----|---------|--------|
| ANDREW NYABOGA | X | | | |
| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | | | |
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | | | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | | | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | | | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | | | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | | | X |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | | | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | | | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | | | |

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to adjourn the Annual Reorganization Meeting. Motion was made by Sondra Riley and seconded by Patricia Madison.

Roll Call Vote

| 11011 0011 7 000 | | | | |
|------------------|--------------|-----|---------|--------|
| TRUSTEES | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
| ANDREW NYABOGA | \mathbf{X} | | | |

| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | | |
|------------------------------|---|--|---|
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | | X |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | | |

Annual Reorganization Meeting was adjourned at 5:36PM.

June 26, 2018 Annual Reorganization Meeting Minutes were approved at the August 28, 2018 Regular Board Meeting

Roll Call Vote

| TRUSTEES | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Absent |
|------------------------------|-----|-----|---------|--------|
| ANDREW NYABOGA | X | | | |
| JOSEPH DI FEO | X | | | |
| PHYLLIS FASONE | X | | | |
| JOHN SEAZHOLTZ | X | | | |
| ELLEN ZADROGA | X | | | |
| EUGENE SQUEO | X | | | |
| RICHARD IRVING | | | X | |
| PATRICIA MADISON | X | | | |
| YVEL CELESTIN | X | | | |
| SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY | X | | | |

Certified to be a true copy

Luis Santiago/SBA/Board Secretary

Dated: August 28, 2018